Escape to the Treehouse

In the Mountains: One of the illustrations from the Treehouse series that young readers will be able to enjoy at the Cultural Centre during these school holidays.

In the Mountains: One of the illustrations from the Treehouse series that young readers will be able to enjoy at the Cultural Centre during these school holidays.

Fans of Terry Denton and Andy Griffith’s Treehouse series of books will be pleased to know that a very special exhibition of Denton’s original drawings and illustrations from the books has arrived in the Mountains.

They are on show at the Cultural Centre from January 4 to 22, along with fun, interactive activities that are all free.

The Many Story Treehouse exhibition features full colour originals of cover drawings that will be familiar to all youngsters who love this incredibly popular series of books, from The 13-Storey Treehouse to The 65-Storey Treehouse and all in-between. Young readers can also check out original drawings of the many wacky characters and crazy time machines that are described in the books. And for those who like to get hands-on, there’s a massive mural and many drawings to colour in on-the-spot, as well as a giant cardboard cut-out for crazy photographs. 

The exhibition is jointly presented by Blue Mountains City Library, the Blue Mountains Cultural Centre and WestWords - Western Sydney’s young people’s literature development organisation, whose goal is to encourage an appreciation of story and storymaking in a variety of forms, and to promote the understanding of the importance of books in the lives of young people.

Check out the library’s Facebook page for more information at facebook.com/BlueMountainsCityLibrary or call the library on 4780 5750. The exhibition is free and is open during the normal Cultural Centre opening hours.