St Thomas Aquinas chapel in Springwood will celebrate its centenary on Saturday, October 19.
Celebrations will kick off with a mass at the St Thomas Aquinas Church in Springwood.
The chapel has an interesting 100-year history.
In 1891, a weatherboard, iron roofed church on Bathurst Road, Springwood was built on a parcel of land donated by the Boland family. With an increase in population, this building became too small and another site was sought.
In 1918, a block was purchased from the Frazer Estate on the corner or Hawkesbury and Bathurst Roads. On May 11, 1919, Archbishop Kelly laid the foundation stone of the new church which was officially opened on October 19. This was the Catholic parish church until 1989 when the growing population of the area demanded a larger church, which was erected at the site of St Columbas Seminary. This century old building, the second church in Springwood, now hosts the important role as the community room and chapel for the residents of Aquinas Court Retirement Village.
The mass will be followed by an open day at Catholic Healthcare's Aquinas Court Retirement Village. Come along and enjoy a delicious sausage sizzle, listen to the talented voices of the Saint Thomas Aquinas School Choir, explore the picturesque village grounds, walk through the 100-year old chapel and learn about its wonderful history.
The public are invited to attend both the mass and open day. The mass will be held at 9.30am at St Thomas Aquinas Church, 168 Hawkesbury Road, Springwood. The open day will be held from 11am-2pm at Aquinas Court Retirement Village, 2 Hawkesbury Road, Springwood.